08 Sep

The Kavli Prize 2016

show more

The prestigious Kavli Prizes recognize scientists for major advances in three research areas: astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience—the big, the small and the complex. The 2016 winners, sharing a cash award of $1 million in each field, will be announced via live satellite from the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo. Delivering the keynote address at the breakfast in New York is France Córdova, the director of the National Science Foundation. Following the announcement of the winners, three renowned scientists—nanoscientist Michal Lipson, neuroscientist Cori Bargmann, and astrophysicist Nergis Mavalvala—will join ABC News‘ chief health and medical editor Richard Besser for a discussion of the scientific achievements of the Kavli Laureates and provide insightful commentary on the next wave of research and opportunities within these dynamic fields.

Original program date: June 2, 2016
MODERATOR: Richard Besser
PARTICIPANTS: Cori Bargmann, Michal Lipson, Nergis Mavalvala

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel for all the latest from WSF.
Visit our Website: http://www.worldsciencefestival.com/
Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/worldscience…
Follow us on twitter: https://twitter.com/WorldSciFest

show less

Rating: 4.87, Duration: 1:12:35 , Author: World Science Festival, Likes: 38, Dislikes: 1, source

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons